Children’s Book Reviews > Reviews

The Children’s Book Reviews are written by well known reviewers and published each Tuesday.

If you are a journalist, a teacher, or a librarian, you can use our critiques freely in your publications or on your web pages. National Reading Campaign reviews are a good way to guide parents and and children in the joy of reading!

For further details on publication conditions, click here.

July 10, 2014

Children's Book Review: Spic-and-Span! Lillian Gilbreth’s Wonder Kitchen

In her Great Ideas series, Monica Kulling explores the accomplishments of popular and less well-known…

July 8, 2014

Children's Book Review: Music is for Everyone

Music is for Everyone, by acclaimed singer-songwriter, Jill Barber, is a toe-tapping, hand-clapping celebration of…

July 4, 2014

Children's Book Review: Raging Star

Finally reunited, Saba, Jack, and the new Freehawks want retribution in Raging Star, the final…

July 3, 2014

Children's Book Review: Wild Berries

“…sweet blueberries, soft blueberries, juicy blueberries…big blueberries, sour blueberries, blueberries that go POP...” Julie Flett’s…

July 2, 2014

Children's Book Review: Jane, the Fox & Me

Hélène is being bullied. She finds no peace in the schoolyard, no solace in the…

June 26, 2014

Children's Book Review: When Emily Carr Met Woo

Award-winning author Monica Kulling’s, When Emily Carr Met Woo, offers a glimpse into the world…

June 24, 2014

Children's Book Review: Bear on the Homefront

Bear on the Home Front is the sequel to A Bear in War, written and…

June 20, 2014

Children's Book Review: Sea of Shadows

Near the remote village of Edgewood, surrounded by walls of hardened lava, lies the Forest…

June 19, 2014

Children's Book Review: Rocket Man

What’s in a name? Pretty well everything, especially when your name is Bob but your…

June 17, 2014

Children's Book Review: If I Wrote a Book About You

In If I Wrote a Book About You, a mother tells her daughter, “If I…

June 13, 2014

Children's Book Review: What We Hide

Imagine a British boarding school. People it with an eclectic group of teens. Set them…

June 12, 2014

Children's Book Review: Skydiver: Saving the Fastest Bird in the World

In Skydiver, Celia Godkin tells the stories of peregrine falcons, the severe decline in their…

June 10, 2014

Children's Book Review: Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress

In Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress, graphic artist and debut author Christine Baldacchino has…

June 6, 2014

Children's Book Review: Jack & Mary in the Land of Thieves

Jack is a fellow who has a habit of getting in trouble. Big trouble. He…

June 5, 2014

Children's Book Review: Millhouse

In the tradition of Charlotte’s Web and The Cricket in Times Square, Natale Ghent’s Millhouse…

June 3, 2014

Children's Book Review: Julia, Child

In Julia, Child, writer Kyo Maclear and illustrator Julie Morstad bring us a story “loosely…

May 30, 2014

Children's Book Review: A Fish Named Glub

A fish named Glub swims in a bowl in a diner. Left behind by a…

May 28, 2014

Children's Book Review: Unspeakable

On May 28th, 1914, the RMS Empress of Ireland sank in the St Lawrence River,…

May 27, 2014

Children's Book Review: If You Happen to Have a Dinosaur

If You Happen to Have a Dinosaur is a tongue-in-cheek user’s guide to prehistoric pets. …

May 23, 2014

Children's Book Review: Peach Girl

In Peach Girl, Raymond Nakamura and Rebecca Bender have transformed a traditional Japanese story into…

May 22, 2014

Children's Book Review: Best Friend Trouble

In Best Friend Trouble, writer Frances Itani and illustrator Geneviève Després introduce kids to Lizzy…

May 22, 2014

Children's Book Review: The Rule of Three

Awarding winning author, Eric Walters, introduces a new trilogy with The Rule of Three, a…

May 16, 2014

Children's Book Review: Shh! My Brother’s Napping

Toronto author and illustrator, Ruth Ohi’s, latest picture book, Shh!  My Brother’s Napping, radiates with…

May 15, 2014

Children's Book Review: Saving Houdini

“Not me, not me, not me—“ Dashiel Woolf doesn’t want to be chosen. One of…