Children’s Book Reviews > Reviews

The Children’s Book Reviews are written by well known reviewers and published each Tuesday.

If you are a journalist, a teacher, or a librarian, you can use our critiques freely in your publications or on your web pages. National Reading Campaign reviews are a good way to guide parents and and children in the joy of reading!

For further details on publication conditions, click here.

August 5, 2014

Children's Book Review: Finding Ruby Starling

Ruth is an only child and a heart patient. She’s also a writer, a sculptor,…

August 1, 2014

Children's Book Review: Nancy Knows

Nancy the elephant is trying her best to remember something important. Thinking backward and forward,…

July 31, 2014

Children's Book Review: The Death of Us

In Alice Kuiper’s The Death of Us, young love goes horribly awry when dark secrets…

July 28, 2014

Children's Book Review: Bog

Trolls have had a bad rap. From the Three Billy Goats Gruff to the Lord…

July 25, 2014

Children's Book Review: Saving Sammy

Saving Sammy, by award-winning author, Eric Walters, is based on a true story of an…

July 24, 2014

Children's Book Review: Mingan My Village

The 15 poems and 15 portraits that make up this lovely book illuminate the students'…

July 22, 2014

Children's Book Review: Gottika

The masked creature with glowing red eyes that crawls over the cover of Helaine Becker’s…

July 17, 2014

Children's Book Review: Dreamer, Wisher, Liar

In Cherise Mericle Harper’s Dreamer, Wisher, Liar, Ashley realizes that sometimes life surprises us by…

July 15, 2014

Children's Book Review: The Ungifted

Put a boy of average intelligence who can’t resist his crazy impulses into a class…

July 10, 2014

Children's Book Review: Spic-and-Span! Lillian Gilbreth’s Wonder Kitchen

In her Great Ideas series, Monica Kulling explores the accomplishments of popular and less well-known…

July 8, 2014

Children's Book Review: Music is for Everyone

Music is for Everyone, by acclaimed singer-songwriter, Jill Barber, is a toe-tapping, hand-clapping celebration of…

July 4, 2014

Children's Book Review: Raging Star

Finally reunited, Saba, Jack, and the new Freehawks want retribution in Raging Star, the final…

July 3, 2014

Children's Book Review: Wild Berries

“…sweet blueberries, soft blueberries, juicy blueberries…big blueberries, sour blueberries, blueberries that go POP...” Julie Flett’s…

July 2, 2014

Children's Book Review: Jane, the Fox & Me

Hélène is being bullied. She finds no peace in the schoolyard, no solace in the…

June 26, 2014

Children's Book Review: When Emily Carr Met Woo

Award-winning author Monica Kulling’s, When Emily Carr Met Woo, offers a glimpse into the world…

June 24, 2014

Children's Book Review: Bear on the Homefront

Bear on the Home Front is the sequel to A Bear in War, written and…

June 20, 2014

Children's Book Review: Sea of Shadows

Near the remote village of Edgewood, surrounded by walls of hardened lava, lies the Forest…

June 19, 2014

Children's Book Review: Rocket Man

What’s in a name? Pretty well everything, especially when your name is Bob but your…

June 17, 2014

Children's Book Review: If I Wrote a Book About You

In If I Wrote a Book About You, a mother tells her daughter, “If I…

June 13, 2014

Children's Book Review: What We Hide

Imagine a British boarding school. People it with an eclectic group of teens. Set them…

June 12, 2014

Children's Book Review: Skydiver: Saving the Fastest Bird in the World

In Skydiver, Celia Godkin tells the stories of peregrine falcons, the severe decline in their…

June 10, 2014

Children's Book Review: Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress

In Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress, graphic artist and debut author Christine Baldacchino has…

June 6, 2014

Children's Book Review: Jack & Mary in the Land of Thieves

Jack is a fellow who has a habit of getting in trouble. Big trouble. He…

June 5, 2014

Children's Book Review: Millhouse

In the tradition of Charlotte’s Web and The Cricket in Times Square, Natale Ghent’s Millhouse…